Manage and Delete Cloud Photos in Android Gallery

Home Blog Tips n Tricks Manage and Delete Cloud Photos in Android Gallery
Manage and Delete Cloud Photos in Android Gallery

Manage and Delete Cloud Photos in Android Gallery

In our previous post, you learned that there are cloud stored photos that can be synced and viewed through your Android device. These may be very useful for some, but for many, this can be downright annoying or downright messy in the gallery. It’s hard to keep a neat gallery when cloud synced photos are in the way.

Now we showed you how to remove these files from the gallery and prevent Android from resynchronizing these photos in the future. Of course, this is only a temporary solution. While we may have kept these files away from the Gallery, they are still out there, waiting to be managed. Who knows? If you manage those photos properly, you may not have to keep them away from the gallery.

Can I do it from my phone?

This is part no and part yes. It is a “no” if you mean managing these files from the gallery. If you haven’t noticed, you can’t delete or even move these files from your gallery. You can’t remove it natively from your phone. It becomes a “yes” if you have an app that can connect to your cloud storage to manage it.

So what do I do in this case?

You can do this in two ways. From your phone, you would need to install a third party application for managing Picasa photos. A good app in the Play Store is Tool for Picasa made by Colifer Lab. This tool has high reliability and ratings, so it should tide you over well enough.

If you feel like managing your photos from an app in your phone is a bit messy or difficult, then you can also try to manage your photos using your PC. You can either go to https://picasaweb.google.com/home or you can download and install the Picasa app for your PC. You can also use Google+ photo manager to edit and delete and move photos from one album to another.

Personally, the most efficient method I could find to manage and delete photos from Picasa and Google Photos is to use the Tool for Picasa. Unfortunately, it will cost you some cash, so you can decide whichever one you are willing to use. For this guide, let’s use the free stuff available to us, which is Picasa Web and Google+.

Using Google+

Once you are ready to manage your photos, head over to your Google+ account. If you move your mouse pointer to the left side of the screen, a panel will appear giving you a list of options. Here, you should choose the “Photos” category to manage your photos.

photos Category

You would be taken to the photos page where your photos are organized. Choose albums to check out all the photos you have in your albums.

albums and uploads

Now, managing photos from Google+ or any web service can be tricky. It’s not as easy as dragging and dropping files in a folder. For one thing, you can’t just right click and create an album. First, you need to make sure you have something to upload first. Any photo will do. You can delete it later. Now choose the “Upload Photos” option in the top bar.

Uploading

As the photo is being uploaded, you can name the Album with whatever name you want. Now you should have your “Sample Album” or whatever name you used for that album.

Album created

Incidentally, you can also opt to use any of the already available albums in your library and simply rename them as needed. Now that you have albums to move into, let’s try moving photos from one album to another.

First, select an album that you will get your photos from.

Notice that as you hover your mouse over a photo, a little check circle will appear. This is what you use to select photos in the album.

Check mark

Selecting it will place a mark on that photo and reveal all the other check circles for other photos. Once you have chosen the photos you want to move, simply click on the option that says “copy to album”

Copy to album

From there you can create a new album, or select from the albums you already have.

Copy photos to

Once the photo has been copied to the proper folder, simply select the photos again and this time, choose “Delete”.

As you can see, it’s a bit more roundabout than the usual folder method we have been used to, but it is definitely manageable. Once you have deleted the photos you no longer need, as well as organized all the photos you want to keep, you can now safely synchronize the photos with your Android device. It will now be arranged accordingly and with no unnecessary and duplicate photos.

Using Picasa is pretty much the same. The interface looks different, but the premise is similar with very similar options. Edited albums and deleted photos synchronize between these services, so you only need to use one or the other depending on which one you find more convenient to use.

No Comments

Leave a comment